Nancy T. Watts Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Office of the Provost each year presents the Nancy T. Watts Award for Excellence in Teaching,  given to a faculty member who best exemplifies creativity in teaching, is receptive to evaluation, is responsive to the individual learning needs of students, is a mentor to students and faculty alike, and is recognized and respected by professional colleagues.

The Watts Award is named after Professor Emerita Nancy T. Watts, PhD, PT, FAPTA, who in 1989 was the first recipient of the Award for Excellence in Teaching that was created to recognize individual faculty members for outstanding achievement in teaching. It was renamed in 1996 in honor of Dr. Watts, who helped create the Institute and then was its first Director of the Physical Therapy program. The Watts award is presented during the fall Faculty Convocation.

2019 Award Recipient

The 2019 recipient of the Watts Award is Rebecca Hill, DNP, RN, FNP-C, CNE, Assistant Professor and Interim Program Director for the Prelicensure program in the School of Nursing – see video above.

See the previous years' recipients.


All regular and adjunct faculty of the MGH Institute of Health Professions, who have not already received the award, are eligible for the award. See a list of past winners. Nominations will stay active for three years.


A committee with representation from faculty, students, and the Board of Trustees will evaluate the nominees' qualification for evidence of:

  • Commitment to enhancing the educational experience of Institute students
  • Creativity in teaching methods
  • Openness to student and faculty colleague evaluation
  • Success as a mentor to faculty or students


Please assemble the following items into a single packet and email it to the Office of the Provost by April 15, 2019:

  1. A cover letter from the nominator(s) describing how the candidate meets the selection criteria for the award
  2. Between two and six supporting letters, from both students and colleagues, attesting to the candidate's teaching excellence 
  3. Sample materials that demonstrate creativity in teaching methods (if appropriate).

See also Faculty and Clinical Educator Commencement Awards.

Back to Top