Past Recipients of the Excellence in Advancing Interprofessional Education and Practice

In 2021, the Award for Excellence in Advancing Interprofessional Education and Practice was given to the Health Professions Education Program team: Roger Edwards, the program chair and a professor; Suzie Kardong-Edgren, an associate professor; Anshul Kumar, an assistant professor; Yolanda Mendez Rainey, the operations manager; Janice Palaganas, a professor; Jennifer Rodriguez, the program manager for online learning; Claudia Rosu, an adjunct assistant professor; Anne Thompson, an adjunct associate professor; and BA White, an adjunct associate professor. The team received the award for its vision and commitment to advancing interprofessional education or practice, having a collaborative approach to communicating and working with relevant stakeholder groups when implementing interprofessional initiative, and producing exemplary high-quality work that is theory or evidence based and illustrative of best practice.

In 2020, the Child Development Day team received the Award for Excellence in Advancing Interprofessional Education and Practice. The team organizes the yearly event during which students in the IHP's direct-entry programs learn and observe youngsters and then break into interprofessional teams to discuss their observations.

In 2019, Regina Doherty, an associate professor of occupational therapy and the department’s interim chair, received the Award for Excellence in Advancing Interprofessional Education and Practice. Dr. Doherty was recognized for being a key contributor to the Institute’s IMPACT Practice initiative, a core collaborator on the HRSA-funded project on Interprofessional Collaboration for Chronic Care Management, and for encouraging the development of the Institute’s Common Reading program. ​The award was presented at the 2019 fall Faculty Convocation.

regina teaching a class


In 2018, 20 people from the IHP and Harvard Medical School responsible for the Crimson Care Collaborative shared the Award for Excellence in Advancing Interprofessional Education and Practice. The initiative is a collaboration between the Institute, Harvard Medical School, and Harvard Dental School in which IHP nurse practitioner and physician assistant studies students provide patient care working in teams with Harvard students at multiple locations throughout Greater Boston. Supported by a $1.4 million grant from the Health Resources and Services Administration, the CCC has pioneered a co-precepting model that integrates the IPEC competencies in faculty development and teaching sessions. Students have presented scholarly work at national conferences based upon their experiences, and the share of Institute nurse practitioner graduates employed in medically underserved communities has increased 53 percent.

The recipients were:

  • From the IHP: Patricia Ready, DNP-FNP-BC, FNAP, Antonia Makosky, DNP, MSN, MPH, ANP-BC, Joshua Merson, MPAS, MS-HPEd, PA-C, EM-CAQ, and Rebecca Nuerenberger, MSN;
  • From Crimson Care Collaborative: Marya Cohen, MD, MPH, Susan M. Edgman- Levitan, PA, Pat Gavin, Amy Weinstein, MD, and Rachael Williams;
  • From Crimson Care Collaborative Student Leaders: Francesca Barrett, Smitha Ganeshan, and Deanna Palenzuela;
  • From Crimson Care Collaborative Site Directors: Jacqueline Chu, MD, Shiri Feingold, MD, Kirsten Meisinger, MD,  Kristen Remus, MD, Kevin Sullivan, MD, MPH, Matthew Tobey, MD, Kate Wren, MD, and Neda Yousif, MD.

The award was presented at the 2018 fall Faculty Convocation.


In 2017, 13 people from the IHP and Massachusetts General Hospital responsible for running the 3 Interprofessional Dedicated Education Units (IPDEU) at the hospital shared the inaugural Award for Excellence in Advancing Interprofessional Education and Practice.

The award recognized the innovative model that the IPDEU steering committee has developed to involve over 100 students per semester in active observation and reflection on the elements of effective collaborative care.

The recipients were: Gaurdia Banister, executive director, the Institute for Patient Care (MGH); Linda Andrist, professor emeritus, School of Nursing (IHP); Patricia Fitzgerald, nursing director (MGH); Jacquelyn Holmberg, clinical nurse specialist (MGH); Rebecca Santos Inzana, associate professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders (IHP); Ann Jampel, clinical specialist, PT Outpatient Service (MGH); Melissa Joseph, nursing director (MGH); Mary Knab, director, IMPACT Practice (IHP); Leslie Portney, dean, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences (IHP); Maureen Schneider, nursing director (MGH); Inez Tuck, dean, School of Nursing (IHP); Carmen Vega-Barachowitz, director, Speech Language and Swallowing Disorders (MGH); and Trish Zeytoonjian, IPDEU clinical faculty coordinator (IHP).