Professional Recognition of Faculty

MGH Institute faculty contribute to their disciplines in a variety of ways, and a number of our faculty have been recognized with some of the very highest honors bestowed by their professions.


Communication Sciences and Disorders

The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) presents numerous awards to recognize the contributions of individuals and groups to the professions of speech-language pathology, audiology, and speech and hearing science. Several MGH Institute faculty are recipients of ASHA awards:

ASHA Honors of the Association

The Honors of the Association recognizes distinguished contribution to the field of speech, language, and hearing and is the highest honor the Association can give.

ASHA Fellow of the Association

The ASHA Fellowship recognizes professional or scientific achievement and is given to members who have made outstanding contributions to the professions. The award is one of the highest honors that ASHA can bestow and is retained for life.

The Willard R. Zemlin Memorial Lecture in Speech Science Award

The Zemlin Memorial Award is given to a person whose impact on speech science has been profound and groundbreaking.

The International Dyslexia Association (IDA) presents various awards to recognize the contributions of individuals and groups to the field of Dyslexia and to those who struggle with the learning disability yet have reached great levels of achievement despite the challenges they face.

IDA The Margaret Byrd Rawson Award

The Margaret Byrd Rawson Award recognizes the work of an individual to advance the mission of The International Dyslexia Association (IDA). The Award is given to a member of the IDA whose work embodies the compassion, leadership, commitment to excellence, fervent advocacy for people with dyslexia that was first shown by dyslexia pioneer, Margaret Byrd Rawson.



Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing

The American Academy of Nursing's approximately 2,068 Fellows are nursing leaders in education, management, practice and research. Invitation to Fellowship is more than recognition of one's accomplishments within the nursing profession. AAN Fellows also have a responsibility to contribute their time and energies to the Academy, and to engage with other health care leaders outside the Academy in transforming America's health care system.

Fellows of the National Academies of Practice (FNAP)

Distinguished Fellows in the National Academies of Practice (NAP) in Nursing are individuals who are committed to and made enduring contributions to interprofessional practice and accessible, affordable health care for all. Distinguished practitioners and fellows are individuals who have spent a significant portion (10 years or more) of their professional career in the practice and direct delivery of health care services who have made enduring contributions in their profession. Distinguished scholars and fellow are individuals with academic achievements such as significant and enduring educational and/or research contribution to practice.

Fellows of the National League for Nursing Academy of Nursing Education

Fellows in the NLN Academy of Nursing Education are individuals who have made enduring and substantial contributions to nursing education as teachers, mentors, scholars, public policy advocates, practice partners, and administrators, inside and outside the professions. Since its inception in 2007, the Academy has welcomed 234 leaders in nursing education, in the US and around the world. Link:

Occupational Therapy

Fellows of the American Occupational Therapy Association (FAOTA)

Through its Roster of Fellows the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) recognizes occupational therapists who with their knowledge and expertise have made a significant contribution to the continuing education and professional development of members of the Association.

Physical Therapy

The American Physical Therapy Association, through its honors and awards program, formally recognizes individuals whose contributions to the profession or to the Association are outstanding and substantial. The Association's honors and awards provide national attention and recognition for the contributions of the recipients and serve to enhance the reputation and public awareness of the entire profession. Association honors and awards represent the highest level of peer recognition.

Catherine Worthingham Fellows of the APTA

Catherine Worthingham Fellows have demonstrated excellence in a primary domain of research, education, practice, or advocacy with translation of contributions and achievements across the other domains; achieved national recognition, inside and outside the physical therapy profession, regarding the impact achieved in the primary domain of research, education, practice, or advocacy; and have demonstrated frequent and sustained contributions (leadership, influence, and achievements) to advance the profession over a period of not less than fifteen years.

Mary McMillan Lecture Award

  • Ruth B. Purtilo, PT, PhD, FAPTA, faculty emerita
  • Nancy T. Watts, PT, PhD, FAPTA, (deceased)

Dorothy E. Baethke - Eleanor J. Carlin Award for Excellence in Academic Teaching

Lucy Blair Service Award

Jules M. Rothstein Golden Pen Award for Scientific Writing


Chattanooga Research Award

Dorothy Briggs Memorial Scientific Inquiry Award

Helen J. Hislop Award for Outstanding Contributions to Professional Literature

Jack Walker Award

Established in 1978, the annual Jack Walker Award is awarded for the best articles on clinical practice published in Physical Therapy, the official journal of the American Physical Therapy Association.

Pauline Cerasoli Lectureship Award

Established in 1998, the annual award acknowledges an individual who has distinguished himself/herself as an educator, administrator, practitioner and/or mentor as exemplified in the professional career of Pauline "Polly" Cerasoli, PT, EdD. The Education Section, APTA sponsors the Pauline Cerasoli Lectureship at Combined Sections Meeting each year.

Back to Top