Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS) in Nursing Program


The Certificate of Advanced Study program is designed for licensed, registered nurses (RNs) with a Master of Science in Nursing (or higher) to expand your specialty training and become eligible for additional advance practice certification. The program:

  • Is an intensive, flexible program that you may begin in any semester, on either a full or part-time basis
  • Includes a minimum 500 hours of supervised clinical practicum, more if you choose a specialty for specific age groups or that requires performance in multiple health care settings
  • Offers seven advanced practice specialty options

Upon enrollment, you will be assigned a faculty member who is a clinical expert in your chosen field of specialization to individualize a curriculum plan that meets your interests and assures eligibility for certification in your advanced practice specialty.

You choose your field of specialization when you apply.

Advanced practice specialties offered for the CAS

The Certificate of Advanced Study program offers specialty options for both RNs with a Master of Science in nursing (Post-MSN) with no advanced practice certification; and RNs with an MSN who are also certified as nurse practitioners (Post-NP).


Curricular goals of the Certificate of Advanced Study program

Upon completion of the program, you will be prepared to take the advanced practice certification exam for your chosen field of specialization.

This course of study will hone your critical thinking, diagnostic reasoning, assessment and decision-making skills, preparing you to become a competent, highly skilled, reflective nurse leader in an advanced practice specialty. 

See CAS application process and requirements for more information.

Tuition, Fees, and Funding

Review tuition and fees for the Nursing CAS program with the School of Nursing Tuition and Fees Calculator.

Review funding options for Nursing CAS students.

Back to Top