Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS) Literacy and Language (20- credit option)

Upon completion of the program, you will be eligible to receive a license as a reading specialist from the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). Search for the requirements for reading specialist licensure by completing the selection boxes as follows:

  • Category:  Academic Specialist Teacher
  • Field: Reading
  • Grade: All Levels
  • Type: Initial

The DESE also requires applicants for the reading specialist license to have an initial teaching license in another field, such as elementary education or speech-language pathology. Candidates need to have been working under that license for at least one year, and they need to pass the reading specialist test. 

The Literacy and Language CAS program (20-credits) leads to licensure in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. If you are not from MA, check with your state to see if they would accept this program for licensure as a reading specialist.

Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure (MTEL-Reading Specialist License)

Academic Year IHP Pass rate (based on program completers) IHP Scaled Score Mean State Scaled Score Mean
2019-2020 91% 260.5
2020-2021 93%
2021-2022  100%

2022-2023 100%












The average pass rate for these 4 years is 96%