Three MGH Institute faculty members have been recognized by the school for their contributions to teaching excellence, the scholarship of teaching and learning, and mentorship.

Named as 2022 Fellows of the Teaching Excellence Academy for Learning (TEAL) are Lesley Maxwell, MS, CCC-SLP, associate chair and an associate  professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders; Josh Merson, MS, MS-HPEd, PA-C, CAQ-EM, associate chair and an assistant professor in the Department of Physician Assistant Studies; and Keshrie Naidoo, PT, DPT, EdD, OCS, director of curriculum, coordinator of the Clinical Residency in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy, and an assistant professor in the Department of Physical Therapy. They will receive professional development funds for three years and the title of distinguished teaching professor.

Lesley Maxwell
Since receiving the 2001 Nancy Watts Award for Excellence in Teaching, Maxwell has only shown more dedication to developing her teaching, innovation, and mentorship of faculty and students. As the CSD program’s clinical director for many years, she led the development of the CSD Program’s clinical excellence curriculum and the Speech, Language, and Literacy Center. She is a coach and mentor to IHP faculty focused on faculty growth in teaching, clinical education, service, and scholarship. Maxwell has played a large role in the development of multiple courses and seminars in the CSD program. 

Maxwell recently launched the Alumni Mentorship Program, which matches alumni of color as mentors with students of color as mentees. She is a coach, professional development provider and course developer working with school districts locally and nationally. She continues to demonstrate a passion for enhancing teaching development at the IHP by integrating teaching innovations, JEDI topics and interprofessional practices into the CSD program’s curriculum.

Josh Merson
Since joining the IHP in 2015, Merson has mentored students and faculty as well as furthered his academic career. While holding a full teaching load, he enrolled in and completed the IHP’s Master of Science in Health Professions Education program to implement a teaching style rooted in both educational theory and practice. He also developed the year-long Patient Care course, led the development of OSCEs administered to first- and second-year students, precepted students in a Covid-19 Isolation Hotel, and provided mentorship and advising for students to present scholarly work at multiple national conferences.

Merson spearheaded IHP PA involvement in national and state advocacy efforts as the legislative chair of the Massachusetts Association of PAs and oversaw student participation in the Crimson Care Collaborative. Currently the Associate Chair of the Department of PA Studies, Merson consistently has received high ratings from students, and he is valued by students and faculty as a mentor and leader both in and out of the classroom.

Keshrie Naidoo
Dr. Naidoo’s academic career has evolved from her initial teaching and learning style into her current passion for the inclusion of principles of social justice and equity in her clinical teaching. In addition to her commitment to improving her teaching style, as evidenced by her high course and instructor ratings from both her DPT and post-professional students, she also has taken opportunities to develop the associated faculty who teach in the physical therapy program through asynchronous professional development modules which have received excellent ratings and feedback. Naidoo’s recommendations reflect her rising leadership in the scholarship of teaching and learning, especially as they relate to diversity and equity in physical therapist and health professions education. 

A well-respected researcher and author, Naidoo has also been recognized for her involvement in developing the JEDI curriculum for both faculty and students and the creation of a mentoring program for students and faculty focusing on supporting health sciences students from minoritized backgrounds.  

This year’s TEAL Fellows join previous recipients since the program was launched: 2019–2022: Patrice Nicholas, DNSc, DHL (Hon.), MPH, RN, NP-C, FAAN and Caitlin Fitzgerald, PT, DPT; 2020–2023: Anne McCarthy Jacobson, DPT, MS; and Kaveri Roy, DNP, RN, CHPN; and 2021–2024: Suellen Breakey, PhD, RN; Eleonor Pusey-Reid, DNP, RN, MS, MEd; and Kathy Simmonds, PhD, MPH, RN, WHNP-BC.