Newly Formed Advisory Council to Bolster MGH Institute

December 07, 2020
Peter Brown
Peter Brown is the chair of the President’s Council.

When Peter Brown was asked about joining a new leadership group at the MGH Institute called the President’s Council, he didn’t hesitate for one second.

“I immediately said, ‘Count me in’,” said Brown, who was chief of staff to the president of Partners HealthCare (now Mass General Brigham), of which the MGH Institute is a member.  Brown has been a friend of the Institute for years, emceeing several IHP events. “I’ve seen firsthand the depth and breadth of the leadership, the faculty, and the student body, which is truly extraordinary. I am honored to lend support to the IHP’s mission.” 

The council, which held its first meeting earlier this fall, was created to serve as a bridge between President Paula Milone-Nuzzo, the Board of Trustees, the IHP community, and the general public. The 12 people currently on the council bring a wealth of knowledge and experience from sectors including pharmaceuticals, health care, insurance, energy, hospitality, communications, and business.

“The President’s Council will serve as a group of well-informed ambassadors who can bring the message of the IHP to the wider world,” said Dr. Milone-Nuzzo. “I am looking forward to hearing their valuable insights as contributors who can help strengthen our mission to prepare the next generation of health care leaders and conduct research to improve health care delivery and health outcomes across the globe.”

Brown, the council’s chair, said the group will meet three times a year and assist the IHP in meeting its strategic initiatives, help advance the story of the Institute, and bolster the Institute’s involvement in the communities it serves. The next meeting is scheduled to occur in early 2021.

The other members of the council are E. Lorraine Baugh, Hon ’18, RN, the IHP’s first chair of the Board of Trustees and a trustee emerita; Colleen Boyce, senior manager, private client services at RSM; Alison Geffin, a friend of the IHP; Tim Golden, vice president of business excellence at EMD Serono; BA Harris, PT, DPT ’02, MSPT ’83, an IHP faculty emerita and the first person to receive a graduate degree from the school; Oswald (Oz) Mondejar, senior vice president of mission and advocacy for Partners Continuing Care, Inc. and a former IHP trustee; Joseph R. Nolan, executive vice president, strategy, customer and corporate relations at Eversource Energy, and director & senior vice president, corporate relations at Eversource Energy Service Co.; Eric Papachristos, a restauranteur and co-owner of Trade Boston; Daniel Serfaty, founder and CEO of Aptima and chair of Aptima Ventures; Catherine (Cathy) Smyth, a retired geriatric social worker; and John Wright, MD, global head of preclinical and clinical research and medical affairs for DePuy Synthes.

Ex-officio members are President Milone-Nuzzo; Dr. Jeanette Ives Erickson, the chair of the Board of Trustees; Jim Canfield, the chair of the Board of Trustees’ Development Committee; Clare McCully, the chief development officer; Dr. Alex Johnson, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Atlas Evans, the vice president for Finance and Administration; and Elizabeth Pipes, the chief of staff.