Four Inducted into the American Academy of Nursing

October 05, 2017
AAN inductees
L-R: Dr. Tuck, Dr. Palaganas, Dr. Ditomassi, Dr. Thibault.

Four members of the MGH Institute community have been selected as Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing.

School of Nursing Dean Inez Tuck, PhD, Center for Interprofessional Education and Studies adjunct associate professor Janice Palaganas, and Marianne Ditomassi, DNP ’11, are among 173 highly distinguished nurse leaders in the AAN’s Class of 2017 Fellows.

 George Thibault, MD, former chair and honorary trustee of the Institute’s Board of Trustees, is one of three people designated as an Honorary Fellow.

They are officially are being inducted during the organization’s annual policy conference, Transforming Health, Driving Policy, on October 5-7, 2017.

“I am proud to welcome this talented cohort of nurses as they join the ranks of the nation's foremost health care thought leaders," said the AAN’s president, Bobbie Berkowitz, PhD. "They bring a rich variety of expertise to the table, and we look forward to … working with them to transform health policy, practice, and research by applying our collective nursing knowledge."

Representing all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and 29 countries, the more than 2,500 Fellows are nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research. The members also include hospital and government administrators, college deans, and renowned scientific researchers.

Dr. Tuck, who became professor and dean of the IHP’s School in Nursing in 2016, was recognized for her unique and influential work at the intersection of mental health, spirituality, theology, and family studies.

Dr. Palaganas, who is director of innovation and development at the Center for Medical Simulation, was recognized for her role in developing educators and for her international work in researching health care simulation for interprofessional education.

Dr. Ditomassi, who is executive director of Nursing & Patient Care Services Operations and Magnet Recognition at Massachusetts General Hospital, was recognized for her extensive experience in the design, implementation, evaluation and dissemination of best practices that impact care delivery.

Dr. Thibault, who has led the IHP board since 2005, is president of the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation. He was recognized for being an innovative leader in promoting interprofessional education and collaboration, and for spearheading initiatives that have been transformative for the development of nurse leaders and the utilization of nurses to enhance primary care.