Past Recipients of the Nancy T. Watts Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Watts Award is named after Professor Emerita Nancy T. Watts, PhD, PT, FAPTA, who in 1989 was the first recipient of the Award for Excellence in Teaching that was created to recognize individual faculty members for outstanding achievement in teaching. It was renamed in 1996 in her honor. Dr. Watts, who helped create the Institute and then was its first Director of the Physical Therapy program, passed away in April 2011.

2019 Award Recipient

The 2019 recipient of the Watts Award is Rebecca Hill, DNP, RN, FNP-C, CNE, Assistant Professor and Interim Program Director for the Prelicensure program in the School of Nursing. View the news story about the 2019 Faculty Convocation Awards.


2018 – Jason R. Lucey, MSN, RN, FNP-BC
2017 – Laura Plummer, PT, DPT, MS, NCS
2016 – Antonia Makosky, DNP, MSN, MPH, ANP-BC 
2015 – Katherine Simmonds, MS, MPH, WHNP-BC
2014 – Patricia Reidy, DNP, FNP-BC
2013 – D.J. Mattson, DPT, EdD, SCS
2012 – Charles Haynes, EdD, CCC-SLP
2011 – A.J. Guarino, PhD
2010 – Marianne Beninato, DPT, PhD
2009 – Charles Jeans, MS, CCC-SLP
2008 – Sharon P. Sullivan, MS, RN
2007 – Linda Andrist, PhD, RNC, WHNP
2006 – Anne McCarthy Jacobson, DPT, MS, NCS
2005 – Marjorie Nicholas, PhD, CCC-SLP
2004 – Pamela E. Hook, PhD, Professor Emerita
2003 – Kathleen Gill-Body, DPT, MS, NCS
2002 – Bette Ann Harris, DPT, MS, Professor Emerita
2001 – Lesley A. Maxwell, MS, CCC-SLP
2000 – Mary P. Watkins, DPT, MS, CHT, Professor Emerita
1999 – Inge B. Corless, PhD, RN, FAAN
1998 – Janice Bell Meisenhelder, DNSc, RN
1997 – Carol H. Kammer, EdD, RN
1996 – No award given
1995 – Patrice K. Nicholas, DNSC, MPH, RN, ANP, FAAN
1994  –James M. Hodgson, PhD
1993 – Michael D. Smith, PhD
1992 – Daniel A. Dyrek, DPT, MS
1991 – Barbara K. Willson, PhD, RNC, Professor Emerita
1990 – Sylvia D. Paige, DNSc, RN, Professor Emerita
1989 – Nancy T. Watts, PhD, PT, FAPTA, Professor Emerita

Back to Top