Faculty Recognized at Annual Convocation

September 06, 2018

The 2018-2019 academic year at MGH Institute of Health Professions began September 4 when the school hosted its annual Faculty Convocation.

Hosted by Dr. Alex Johnson, provost and academic vice president for academic affairs, the event was highlighted by the presentation of several faculty awards and recognition, faculty research posters, and a general celebration of the MGH Institute’s academic excellence. 

[Juicebox gallery here]

Highest Faculty Teaching Award Presented

Jason Lucey (right), an assistant professor in the School of Nursing, received the Nancy T. Watts Award for Excellence in Teaching, the MGH Institute’s highest faculty honor for teaching.

If the success of a professor is measured in their ability to inspire excellence and build the confidence of their students, then Jason would be considered the best in the field,” said Kristina Devine, one of several Master of Science in Nursing students from the Class of 2018 who submitted testimonials in support of Lucey, who has taught at the Institute since 2010. “Jason is a role model to all students and is constantly pushing us to be our best selves. His famous words, ‘You are more than one test,’ still runs through my head before major exams—providing me encouragement that I can succeed and that the big picture with patient care is more important than the small details of a test grade."

Lucey, who has taught at the IHP since 2010, was praised by colleagues and students for his commitment to enhancing students’ educational experience, creativity in teaching methods, being open to student and faculty colleague evaluations.

Added fellow 2018 graduate Audrey Clark, “He addresses social justice issues directly, honestly, clearly, and with compassion. He does not shy away from calling out racism, classism, and other -isms. At the same time, he listens well, educates himself on issues, and grows. Most importantly, he does this whether or not anyone is watching.”

Lucey is the track co-coordinator for the School of Nursing’s family nurse practitioner specialty. A 2001 graduate of the Institute’s Master of Science in Nursing program, he also is an NP in the emergency room at Wentworth-Douglass Hospital. Lucey has been recognized for his work in substance use disorders and serves on a regional task force addressing the opioid epidemic in his home community on the New Hampshire seacoast.

He is the 29th recipient of the Watts award, named after the nationally renowned physical therapist who was a pioneer at Massachusetts General Hospital, was instrumental in the creation of the MGH Institute, and was the school’s first leader of its physical therapy program.

The “unique relationship” between the IHP and Mass General Hospital

Debra Burke, senior vice president for Patient Care and chief nurse at Massachusetts General Hospital, gave the keynote address. She spoke of the “unique relationship” between the two Partners HealthCare affiliates that has developed since the hospital founded the MGH Institute 41 years ago, saying the IHP is Mass General’s “most important academic partner.”

“Today, we face a strategic window that is wide open to us to explore new opportunities to advance practice, education, research, and service to our communities,” said Dr. Burke. “We must continue to partner and align our resources with our shared goals of preparing the next generation of clinicians, advancing clinical outcomes and our professions.”

Faculty Recognition

A team of 20 people, including Professor Patricia Reidy, Assistant Professor Antonia Makosky, and Instructor Rebecca Nuerenberger from the School of Nursing, and Department of Physician Assistant Studies Assistant Professor Joshua Merson, were awarded the Interprofessional Education and Practice Award for their work with the Crimson Care Collaborative (CCC). The initiative is a collaboration between the Institute, Harvard Medical School, and Harvard Dental School in which IHP nurse practitioner and physician assistant studies students provide patient care working in teams with Harvard students at multiple locations throughout Greater Boston. Supported by a $1.4 million grant from the Health Resources and Services Administration, the CCC has pioneered a co-precepting model that integrates the IPEC competencies in faculty development and teaching sessions. Students have presented scholarly work at national conferences based upon their experiences, and the share of Institute nurse practitioner graduates employed in medically underserved communities has increased 53 percent.

Faculty Research Awards Presented

Dr. Tiffany Hogan, a professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders and director of the Speech and Language Literacy Lab, received the Faculty Award for Excellence in Research. A major focus of her work has been on understanding causal mechanisms associated with developmental language disorder, dyslexia, speech sound disorders, and their co-morbidities. Hogan’s research has been funded by the NIH, Institute of Education Sciences, and many private foundations. She has authored or co-authored 67 publications, 45 of which include student co-authors.

Dr. Yael Arbel, an associate professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, received the New Investigator Award for her research that investigates individual differences in learning abilities with a focus on understanding the role of feedback. Arbel, who in 2014 received the Institute’s Faculty Research Fellowship Award, is co-director of the Cognitive Neuroscience Group.

Two faculty are recipients of the 2018-2019 Faculty Research Fellowship Award. Dr. Rawan AlHeresh, an assistant professor in the Department of Occupational Therapy, received the award for her work, “Work Function Assessment: A Pathway to Minimizing Work Disability.” Dr. Lauryn Zipse, associate professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders and co-director of the Cognitive Neuroscience Group, received the award for her work, “Speaking Along: The Effects of Speech Entrainment in People with Aphasia.”

Other Faculty News

Dr. Lynn Foord, director of the Prerequisites for Health Professions Program and an associate professor in the Center for Interprofessional Studies and Innovation, succeeded SON Associate Professor Dr. Elissa Ladd as chair of the Faculty Senate.

Three faculty were recognized for completing their sabbaticals during the 2017-2018 academic year: Dr. Tracy Brudvig, associate professor of physical therapy; Dr. Inge Corless, professor of nursing; and Dr. Mary Knab, director of the IMPACT Practice program and associate professor in the Center for Interprofessional Studies and Innovation.

Two faculty were recognized for receiving promotions. Joanna Christodoulou is now an associate professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, and Joshua Merson is now an assistant professor in the Department of Physician Assistant Studies.

Thirteen faculty presented posters of some of their most recent research after the event.