Prior Year Awards for Excellence in Advancing Interprofessional Education and Practice

The Award for Excellence in Advancing interprofessional education and Practice was first awarded in 2017 at the fall Faculty Convocation

In 2017, 13 people from the IHP and Massachusetts General Hospital responsible for running the 3 Interprofessional Dedicated Education Units (IPDEU) at the hospital shared the inaugural Award for Excellence in Advancing Interprofessional Education and Practice.

The award recognized the innovative model that the IPDEU steering committee has developed to involve over 100 students per semester in active observation and reflection on the elements of effective collaborative care.

The recipients were: Gaurdia Banister, executive director, the Institute for Patient Care (MGH); Linda Andrist, professor emeritus, School of Nursing (IHP); Patricia Fitzgerald, nursing director (MGH); Jacquelyn Holmberg, clinical nurse specialist (MGH); Rebecca Santos Inzana, associate professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders (IHP); Ann Jampel, clinical specialist, PT Outpatient Service (MGH); Melissa Joseph, nursing director (MGH); Mary Knab, director, IMPACT Practice (IHP); Leslie Portney, dean, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences (IHP); Maureen Schneider, nursing director (MGH); Inez Tuck, dean, School of Nursing (IHP); Carmen Vega-Barachowitz, director, Speech Language and Swallowing Disorders (MGH); and Trish Zeytoonjian, IPDEU clinical faculty coordinator (IHP).