Academic Council

The Academic Council serves as advisory to the Provost on matters of academic concern to the faculty and students of the Institute.

Issues associated with quality of academic life in the Institute, support of the faculty and students in their roles of teaching and learning, advancement and support of the research concerns of the Institute, academic strategic planning, monitoring/tracking institutional and programmatic accreditations and effectiveness, and assuring programs and curricular quality are discussed within the framework of Council.

The Council meets on a monthly basis at the discretion of the Provost.

Membership of the Academic Council: Academic Year 2021–2022

Alex Johnson (Chair)

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Jessica Bell

Director of Library and Instructional Design

Mike Boutin

Assistant Dean for Faculty and Student Success, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences

Peter Cahn

Associate Provost for Academic Affairs

Steve Ciesielski

Assistant Dean for Student Success, School of Nursing

Paulette Di Angi

Director of Institutional Effectiveness

Regina Doherty

Chair of Occupational Therapy

James DuPont

Dean of Enrollment Services

Heather Easter

Director of Academic Operations

Roger Edwards

Director of Health Professions Education

Susan Farrell

Director of Continuing and Professional Development

Maureen Flynn

Program Director of Genetic Counseling

Laura Plummer

Interim Chair of Physical Therapy

Nara Gavini

Associate Provost for Research

Jack Gormley

Dean of Student and Alumni Services

Rebecca Hill

Director of the School of Nursing Prelicensure Programs

Teresa Kimberley

Director of the PhD in Rehabilitation Sciences Program

Mary Knab

Associate Provost for Interprofessional Education and Practice

Sarah McKinnon

Director of Post-Professional OTD Program

Jason Lucey

Director of Advanced Practice Nursing Program

Marjorie Nicholas

Chair of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Patricia Reidy

Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Innovation, School of Nursing

Kimberly Mace

Director of Online Prerequisite Program

Margaret Sipe

Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Programs

Denis Stratford

Chief Operating Officer

Kenneth White

Dean, School of Nursing

Lisa Walker

Director of Physician Assistant Studies Program

Patrice Nicholas

Faculty Senate Chair, Director of Climate Change, Climate Justice, and Health

Bridget Perry

Director of Clinical Doctorate in Speech Language Pathology

Debra Doroni

Interim Director, Master of Health Administration

Lesley Maxwell

Associate Chair of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Kimberly Truong

Chief Equity Officer

Sarah Welch

Associate VP of Human Resources

Clare McCully

Chief Development Officer

Zhaopeng Ji

Associate VP of Financial Services

Atlas Evans

VP for Finance and Administration

Joanna Kreisel

ENRiCH Project Manager

Representatives to the Academic Council will have the function of representing their various perspectives, but also serving cohesively as the leadership "voice" of the Institute.

Academic Committees

A number of key academic committees advise the Academic Council and the Office of the Provost.

  • Committee on Teaching Excellence 
  • Research and Scholarship Committee
  • Interdisciplinary Activities Committee
  • Program Review Committee
  • New Academic Initiatives Committee
  • Academic Operations Committee