About Us

March 26, 2013

Faculty Named Emeriti

Four members of the MGH Institute academic community will be honored at the 2013 Commencement following their appointment as Professors Emeriti by the Boston graduate school’s Board of Trustees.

Drs. Mary Carey, Bette Ann Harris, Alexandra Paul-Simon,and Cynthia Zadai combined to spend close to 100 years teaching MGH Institute students and making noteworthy contributions to the school's academic programs and their respective professional disciplines. They join 13 other former faculty members who have been similarly designated.

“The Board of Trustees voted unanimously to bestow this honor on these four faculty members who dedicated so much of their professional lives to the MGH Institute, its programs and its students,” said President Janis P. Bellack. “They all are quite deserving of this special honor.”

Dr. Mary CareyMary Carey, PhD, RD, was the MGH Institute’s first Academic Dean, serving from 1998-2007. She began her MGH Institute career in 1980, a year before the first students arrived, serving as a founding faculty member and first director of the school’s former Dietetics Program until it closed in 1995. Later she was administrative director of the Communication Sciences and Disorders program. In 1997, she received the American Dietetic Association’s Medallion Award.

Dr. BA HarrisBette Ann Harris, DPT, MS, who was the Institute’s first graduate in 1983, spent 27 years on the faculty. At her retirement in December, she was Interim Director of the Center for Interprofessional Studies and Innovation. Previously, she served as Director of the Physical Therapy program from 1993-2002, and more recently as Associate Provost for Academic Affairs. In addition, the Institute’s Distinguished Alumni Award is named after her.

Dr. Alexandra Paul-SimonAlexandra Paul-Simon, PhD, RN, joined the Institute faculty in 1991. An Assistant Dean and Clinical Associate Professor in the School of Nursing, she launched and led the school’s Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree program, which first admitted students in 2008. Previously, she served as Academic Coordinator of Clinical Nursing Education and Associate Director of the Master of Science in Nursing degree program.

Dr. Cynthia ZadaiCynthia Zadai, DPT, MS, CCS, FAPTA, began her career at the Institute in 1985, rising to the rank of Clinical Associate Professor and Coordinator and core faculty member of the Transitional Doctor of Physical Therapy degree program. Previously, she held increasingly higher clinical and administrative positions at Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital, culminating with her role as Chief of Rehabilitation Services. She was elected in 2001 a Catherine Worthington Fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association.

Back to Top